Home > Support > Special Initiatives > Awards Program
Awards Program

The Chesapeake Bay Trust is pleased to announce its 2014 Award winners. Launched in 1998, the Trust’s Annual Awards Program recognizes awardees each year for a variety of environmental leadership roles and achievements. Each January during its Legislative Reception, the Chesapeake Bay Trust announces the winners of its Annual Awards Program.

This year's winners are:

2014 Dr. Torrey Brown Award: Jennifer Stanley
and the Town Creek Foundation in Talbot County
This year the Trust honored Jennifer Stanley, one of the founders and current president of the Town Creek Foundation, and a lifelong advocate for environmental issues. In addition to her work with Town Creek, Stanley serves on several boards and oversees a summer day camp and after-school program for students on Maryland’s Eastern Shore. The Dr. Torrey Brown Award was created to honor one of the Trust's founding board members and recognizes an individual each year who has shown extraordinary leadership to improve the Chesapeake Bay and local communities.

2014 Ellen Fraites Wagner Award: Rupert Rossetti
Octoraro Watershed Association in Cecil County
The Trust recognized Rupert Rossetti of the Octoraro Watershed Association with this year’s Ellen Fraites Wagner Award. This award was created in 1998 to honor Ellen Fraites Wagner who was a tireless advocate for the Chesapeake Bay and the environment. Rossetti was honored for his work where he actively participates in the Cecil County WIP Advisory Committee, is vice president of the Chesapeake Stormwater Network, and is a longtime volunteer for the Octoraro Watershed Association.

2014 Maryland Educator of the Year: Hemalatha Bhaskaran
James M. Bennett High School in Wicomico County
Hemalatha Bhaskaran is an eleventh and twelfth grade teacher at James M. Bennett High School in Salisbury where her students take part in numerous field experiences each year, organize an annual Earth Day program for elementary students, and where she participates in Governor Martin O’Malley’s School-Shed program. Along with her award, Bhaskaran will receive a $2,500 grant to be used for environmental projects and programs at her school.

2014 Regional Educator of the Year: Judy Gwartney-Green
Peasley Middle School in Gloucester, VA
Judy Gwartney-Green is a seventh grade life science teacher at Peasley Middle School in Gloucester, VA where she incorporates learning about the Bay into almost all of her lesson plans. Her students attend many outdoor experiences each year and grow oysters in the classroom, among other initiatives. Gwartney-Green will also receive a $2,500 grant for her school to use for environmental education programs.

2014 Student of the Year: Erick Vargas
Bladensburg High School in Prince George's County
The Trust’s $5,000 Student of the Year Scholarship was awarded to Erick Vargas who is a senior at Bladensburg High School in Prince George’s County. Vargas is the president of the Port Towns Youth Council where he has organized community clean-ups and plantings, as well as worked to manage hunger initiatives and community health issues. He is the grand ambassador of the C-STEM Team, a member of the National Honors Society, and a band leader.

2014 Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship: Dominique Overman
Towson University in Baltimore County
The Trust’s $5,000 Arthur Dorman Scholarship is named in honor of the late Senator Arthur Dorman who played a large role in bringing Trust grant programs to a greater diversity of communities in Maryland. This scholarship is given annually to a student of color and this year’s award recipient is Dominique Overman of Towson University. Among her many accomplishments, this environmental studies major is Towson University’s Eco-Rep and she also was part of her high school’s Green Team.

2014 Melanie Teems Award: Interfaith Partners for the Chesapeake
Anne Arundel County
The Trust’s created its Melanie Teems Award to honor an exceptional program or project that is improving local communities and Maryland’s natural resources. This award was named after the Trust’s longest serving staff member Melanie Teems and was given this year to Interfaith Partners for the Chesapeake. This organization, based in Annapolis but doing work throughout the state, brings together faith-based and environmental groups to help improve local environments and the Chesapeake Bay.

2014 Commercial Stewards Award: Frank Ferrogine
Annapolis Cars in Anne Arundel County
The Trust’s Commercial Stewards Award is given annually to recognize an outstanding corporate or commercial entity that strives to make a difference in the community and for the Bay. Frank Ferrogine, president and CEO of Annapolis Cars, was the recipient of the award for his work to implement stormwater management projects and best practices at his dealerships. 

The Chesapeake Bay Trust will open its 2015 awards program nomination period in October of 2014. For questions please contact Kristin Foringer, 410-974-2941, ext. 113.

Past Winners:

2013 Award Winners
2012 Award Winners