Home > Support > Special Initiatives > Chesapeake Conservation Corps
Chesapeake Conservation Corps

Chesapeake Conservation Corps Program


The Chesapeake Conservation Corps, is a program that provides service-learning opportunities and green job training for young people through environmental and energy conservation projects. This initiative, supported by the Trust, Constellation Energy, the National Park Service and the state of Maryland, pairs young adults with organizations that provide hands-on environmental, leadership, and technical training opportunities for a one-year term of service.

This past year the Chesapeake Bay Trust placed 41 Corps Volunteers in Host Organizations throughout Maryland and the region for one year terms of service, with this year's service to begin August 25, 2015. Individuals are between the ages of 18 and 25 years at the time of enrollment. Corps Volunteers receive stipends of $16,000 per year administered by the Trust. 

Selected Corps volunteers will have the opportunity to work on a wide range of activities in the fields of environmental restoration, energy conservation, sustainable agriculture, forestry, community engagement and/or K-12 environmental education.

*View a full list of the potential 2015-2016 Chesapeake Conservation Corps hosts here*

For any questions about the Chesapeake Conservation Corps, contact Tara Baker, 410-974-2941, ext. 102

Chesapeake Conservation Corps Class of 2016

The Chesapeake Bay Trust announced the latest class of 41 young people who will join the 2016 Chesapeake Conservation Corps program. This program, now in its sixth year, was created by the Maryland Legislature and matches young people, ages 18-25, with a variety of organizations for a one-year term of service to improve local communities and protect natural resources. During the upcoming year, Conservation Corps participants will gain valuable on-the-job experience while they work to advance environmental conservation, K-12 education, energy efficiency programs, sustainable agriculture practices, and a host of other environmentally-focused initiatives.

Since the program began in 2010, the Corps has grown by leaps and bounds: In its inaugural year, 16 Corps participants worked on a variety of environmental initiatives including energy efficiency programs, restoration activities and neighborhood clean-ups, water quality monitoring programs, reforestation projects and job training programs for youth. The program expanded to 21 participants in its second year, and 26 in its third and fourth years, and included 32 exceptional young people this past year who advanced conservation initiatives throughout the region. In 2015, more than 130 applicants applied to be selected for the program, and over 85 organizations applied to be hosts organizations, which included both traditional conservation nonprofits as well as non-environmental organizations looking to add an environmental component to their work.

Due to the continued success of the program, the Maryland Legislature voted during its 2015 session to expand funding for the program which allowed for additional individuals to participate this year. Program funding is also matched by the Chesapeake Bay Trust, with a generous contribution provided by Constellation Energy. This year the Trust added the National Park Service as a funding partner, which allowed the program to expand in Maryland as well as into Virginia and Pennsylvania. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Arlington Echo Outdoor Education Center, Montgomery County Government, the Neighborhood Design Center, Frederick County Government, and the Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Commission also contributed matching funds for the program.



Each Corps participant is provided with a stipend and commits to a one year term of service which begins in August. During the course of that year, Corps participants work directly with their host organizations while also receiving extensive job trainings hosted by the Trust, as well as other service-learning opportunities including grant writing and project management. Of the 41 selected participants, nine (9) will work for organizations in Anne Arundel County; eight (8) will work in Montgomery; seven (7) in Baltimore; five (5) in Prince George’s; three (3) in Frederick; two (2) in Worcester County; and one (1) each in Carroll, Kent, St. Mary’s and Talbot counties. The two remaining Corps participants will work in Virginia and Pennsylvania-based organizations, respectively.

You can read the full press release here and also detailed descriptions on each participant.