Home > Resources > Bay Organizations
Bay Organizations

Stay up-to-date!
Stay current on all the green happenings in your area by following  a few of these blogs:

Green Gaithersburg
Greater Greater Washington
Baltimore Green Works
Live Green Howard
Bethesda Green
Annapolis Green


Know your watershed:

Want to know the health of a stream or river in your backyard? Check out the Audubon Naturalist Society's interactive map!

 


 

Chesapeake Bay Organizations

The Chesapeake Bay has many supporters.  There are hundreds of organizations in the Chesapeake Bay watershed dedicated to the preservation and restoration of the Bay.  If you are looking for additional funding resources or just looking to get involved, explore some of these remarkable organizations to find the one that works for you.

Contact Molly Alton Mullins if you would like to add your organization to this list.   

State Agencies

Maryland Department of Natural Resources:  www.dnr.state.md.us
Maryland Department of the Environment:  www.mde.state.md.us
Maryland Department of Agriculture: www.mda.state.md.us
Maryland Department of Planning:  www.mdp.state.md.us
Maryland State Department of Education www.marylandpublicschools.org/MSDE/programs/environment/
BayStat:  www.baystat.maryland.gov

Federal Agencies

Environmental Protection Agency:  www.epa.gov
Chesapeake Bay Program: www.chesapeakebay.net
Fish and Wildlife Service: www.fws.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA):  www.noaa.gov
Army Corps of Engineers: http://www.usace.army.mil/

Multistate Bodies

Chesapeake Executive Council
Chesapeake Bay Program Fisheries Goal Implementation Team
Chesapeake Bay Program Habitat Goal Implementation Team
Chesapeake Bay Program Water Quality Goal Implementation Team   
Chesapeake Bay Program Maintain Healthy Watersheds Goal Implementation Team
Chesapeake Bay Program, Fostering Stewardship Goal Implementation Team 
Chesapeake Bay Commission

Academia

University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science:  www.umces.edu
University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute:  www.umbi.umd.edu
Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC):   www.serc.si.edu
Chesapeake Research Consortium (CRC): www.chesapeake.org

Nonprofits

Chesapeake Bay Foundation: www.cbf.org
Blue Water Baltimore: http://www.bluewaterbaltimore.org/
Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay:  https://allianceforthebay.org/
Izaak Walton League of America: www.iwla.org
Oyster Recovery Partnership: http://www.oysterrecovery.org/
Chesapeake Legal Alliance: www.chesapeakelegal.org

Local Groups

Magothy River Association: www.magothyriver.org
South River Federation: www.southriverfederation.net
Severn River Association: www.severnriver.org
Severn River Commission: www.aacounty.org/severnriver
Spa Creek Conservancy: www.spacreek.org
Chesapeake Environmental Protection Association:  www.cepaonline.org

Riverkeepers

Severn Riverkeeper: www.severnriverkeeper.org
South Riverkeeper: www.southriverfederation.net
West-Rhode Riverkeeper: www.westrhoderiverkeeper.org
Patuxent Riverkeeper: www.paxriverkeepr.org